Team

Thomas Schachl, LL.M.

Partner
Attorney-at-Law
Certified Lawyer for
Intellectual Property Law

 

Languages

German, English

Contact

Thomas Schachl
Phone +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
tschachlwallinger.com

 

Thomas Schachl is a partner in the firm. He advises on patent law in all technical fields, as well as on utility model law, employee invention law, design law and technology-related competition, copyright and antitrust law with a focus on patent infringement proceedings.

Legal activity

Specialization in litigation and counseling, in particular in the fields of patent law, utility model law and employee invention law, as well as in matters of technology-related unfair competition.

The focus is on patent infringement proceedings before German courts, as well as strategic advice and coordination of internationally pending parallel patent litigation and nullity proceedings. Thomas Schachl advises on the enforcement of claims for damages arising from infringement of industrial property rights.

His activities also include conducting vindication proceedings, negotiating and drafting licenses, settlement and confidentiality agreements, as well as border seizures and measures relating to trade fair matters.

Legal Education

Thomas Schachl studied law at the University of Frankfurt am Main and completed a Master's degree in International Intellectual Property Law at the University of Exeter/UK and Dresden with a focus on international and national patent and trademark law.

Prior to joining WR in 2012, Thomas Schachl worked for more than five years as a lawyer in an international patent and law firm in Munich specializing in patent infringement and patent nullity proceedings, mainly in the fields of patent infringement, inventor law, license agreements and damages. Mr. Schachl is qualified as a specialist attorney for intellectual property law.

Career

since 2012 
Partner at Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann

Worked for more than five years as a lawyer in an international patent and law firm in Munich, specializing in patent infringement and patent nullity proceedings.

Studied law at the University of Frankfurt am Main. Master's degree in International Intellectual Property Law from the University of Exeter/UK and Dresden with a focus on international and national patent and trademark law

Memberships

  • German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR)
  • Association of Intellectual Property Professionals (VPP)
  • International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI)
  • European Patent Lawyers Association (EPLAW)
  • Licensing Executives Society (LES)

Publications

  • Note on OLG Karlsruhe: On the standard of the summary examination of the protection against execution in appeal proceedings according to §§ 719, 707 ZPO, GRUR-Prax 2015, 23
  • Note on LG Düsseldorf: Referral to the ECJ on the compulsory license objection in industrial standards, GRUR-Prax 2013, 162
  • Note on ECJ: Issuance of "cross-border" injunction despite exclusive jurisdiction of court, GRUR-Prax 2012, 395
  • LG München I makes license analogy more attractive, GRUR-Prax 2011, 341 Duty to disclose, Patent World, Issue 189, February 2007, 23-25

Team

Thomas Schachl, LL.M.

Partner
Rechtsanwalt
Fachanwalt für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch

Kontakt

Thomas Schachl
Tel. +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
tschachlwallinger.com

Thomas Schachl ist Partner der Kanzlei. Er berät im Patentrecht auf allen technischen Gebieten sowie im Gebrauchsmusterrecht, Arbeitnehmererfinderrecht, Geschmacksmusterrecht und im technologiebezogenen Wettbewerbs-, Urheber- und Kartellrecht mit einem Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt auf Patentverletzungsverfahren.

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit

Spezialisierung auf Prozessführung und Beratung, insbesondere auf den Gebieten des Patent-, Gebrauchsmuster- und Arbeitnehmererfinderrechts sowie in Fragen des technologiebezogenen unlauteren Wettbewerbs.

Die Schwerpunkte liegen in der Führung von Patentverletzungsverfahren vor deutschen Gerichten sowie in der strategischen Beratung und Koordination von international anhängigen parallelen Patentstreitverfahren sowie Nichtigkeitsverfahren. Thomas Schachl berät bei der Durchsetzung von Schadensersatzansprüchen aus Verletzung gewerblicher Schutzrechte.

Zu seinen Tätigkeiten zählen ferner die Führung von Vindikationsverfahren, Verhandeln und Verfassen von Lizenz-, Vergleichs- und Vertraulichkeitsverträgen sowie Grenzbeschlagnahmen und Maßnahmen in Bezug auf Messesachen.

Juristische Ausbildung

Thomas Schachl hat Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Frankfurt am Main studiert und ein Masterstudium zum International Intellectual Property Law an der University of Exeter/UK und Dresden mit Schwerpunkt im internationalen und nationalen Patent- und Markenrecht abgeschlossen.

Vor seinem Eintritt bei WR im Jahr 2012 war Thomas Schachl über fünf Jahre als Rechtsanwalt in einer auf Patentverletzungs- und Patentnichtigkeitsverfahren spezialisierten internationalen Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei in München, dort vorwiegend in den Bereichen Patentverletzung, Erfinderrecht, Lizenzverträge und Schadensersatz tätig. Herr Schachl ist qualifiziert als Fachanwalt für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.

Laufbahn

seit 2012 
Partner bei Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann

Über fünf Jahre als Rechtsanwalt in einer auf Patentverletzungs- und Patentnichtigkeitsverfahren spezialisierten internationalen Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei in München tätig. 

Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Frankfurt am Main. Masterstudium zum International Intellectual Property Law an der University of Exeter/UK und Dresden mit Schwerpunkt im internationalen und nationalen Patent- und Markenrecht abgeschlossen.

Mitgliedschaften

  • Deutsche Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR)
  • Vereinigung von Fachleuten des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes (VPP)
  • Internationale Vereinigung für den Schutz des Geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI)
  • European Patent Lawyers Association (EPLAW)
  • Licensing Executives Society (LES)

Publikationen

  • Anm. zu OLG Karlsruhe: Zum Maßstab der summarischen Prüfung des Vollstreckungsschutzes im Berufungsverfahren nach §§ 719, 707 ZPO, GRUR-Prax 2015, 23
  • Anm. zu LG Düsseldorf: Vorlage zum EuGH zum Zwangslizenzeinwand bei Industriestandards, GRUR-Prax 2013, 162
  • Anm. zu EUGH: Erlass von „Cross-Border“-Verfügung trotz ausschließlicher Gerichtszuständigkeit, GRUR-Prax 2012, 395
  • LG München I macht Lizenzanalogie attraktiver, GRUR-Prax 2011, 341 Duty to disclose, Patent World, Issue 189, February 2007, 23-25