Team

Ralph Hahner

Dipl.-Phys., Ingénieur Diplômé

German and European
Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

 

German, English

German, English, French

Contact

Ralph Hahner
Phone +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
rhahnerwallinger.com

 

Ralph Hahner is a Patent Attorney, European Patent Attorney and European Trademark and Design Attorney. Due to his additional business qualification MBA (Collège des Ingénieurs), Mr. Hahner not only offers legal advice, but also focuses on the entrepreneurial needs of his clients.

Legal Practice

Mr. Hahner's practice includes:

  • Defense and enforcement of intellectual property rights in litigation proceedings (opposition proceedings, infringement proceedings and nullity proceedings). For example, he has handled proceedings concerning commercially important intellectual property rights in a team with attorneys-at-law in Germany, France, as well as in Italy.
  • Drafting of patent applications; special knowledge in the field of software patents (computer-implemented inventions); representation in application proceedings before the German Patent and Trademark Office (DPMA), the European Patent Office (EPO) and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO); development and management of global patent portfolios.
  • Examination of the validity of intellectual property rights and potential infringements of intellectual property rights in the context of expert opinions on freedom to operate with respect to intellectual property rights of third parties and on due diligence in corporate transactions.

Due to his residences in the US and France, Mr. Hahner is fluent in English and French. He has authored several articles on intellectual property.
 

Technical Background

Mr. Hahner studied physics and electrical engineering in Germany and France. During his studies he specialized in applied physics and, in the course of this, in microelectronics and nanoelectronics. His research activities were in the field of measurement instruments and devices for optoelectronic applications. Mr. Hahner worked on the development of single photon emitters for quantum cryptography, for example.  

Owing to his education, Mr. Hahner possesses a broad technical expertise: communication and information technology, control engineering, micro- and optoelectronics and nanotechnology, medical technology, automotive engineering, filter technology, battery technology, and civil engineering.

Career

2015
Graduate of the CEIPI Training Program for technically qualified judges of the Unified Patent Court (UPC)

Since 2011
German Patent Attorney, European Trademark and Design Attorney and European Patent Attorney with Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann and Breuer Friedrich Hahner in Munich

2007 – 2010
Patent Attorney Trainee with Bardehle Pagenberg, the German Patent and Trademark Office and the Federal Patent Court in Munich

2006 – 2007
MBA at the Collège des Ingénieurs, Paris; project engineer at Renault SA (Technical Center Lardy, France) in the field of test benches

2000 – 2006
Studies of physics at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Dipl.-Phys.), studies of electrical engineering at Grenoble Institute of Technology (INPG - Ingénieur Diplômé) and studies of Micro- and Nanotechnology at the University Joseph Fourier in Grenoble; working student and internships at Robert Bosch GmbH (production planning), Andreas Stihl AG (tool shop), Mahle GmbH (production processes), Institut Laue-Langevin Grenoble (neutron delivery system) and CEA Grenoble (research in the field of cavity quantum electrodynamics)

Team

Ralph Hahner

Dipl.-Phys., Ingénieur Diplômé

Patentanwalt 
European Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Kontakt

Ralph Hahner
Tel. +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
rhahnerwallinger.com

Ralph Hahner ist Patentanwalt, European Patent Attorney und European Trademark and Design Attorney. Durch seine betriebswirtschaftliche Zusatzqualifikation (MBA –Collège des Ingénieurs) bietet Herr Hahner nicht nur rechtliche Beratung, sondern stellt die unternehmerischen Bedürfnisse der Mandanten in den Mittelpunkt.

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit

Die Praxis von Herrn Hahner umfasst:

  • Verteidigung und Durchsetzung von Schutzrechten in Streitverfahren (Einspruchsverfahren, Verletzungsverfahren und Nichtigkeitsverfahren). Beispielsweise betreute er Verfahren um wirtschaftlich bedeutende Schutzrechte im Team mit Rechtsanwälten sowohl in Deutschland, Frankreich sowie in Italien.
  • Verfassen von Patentanmeldungen; Spezialkenntnisse im Bereich Softwarepatente ("Computerimplementierte Erfindungen"); Vertretung in Anmeldeverfahren vor dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA), dem Europäischen Patentamt (EPA) und der World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO); Aufbau und Betreuung von globalen Patentportfolios.
  • Prüfen des Rechtsbestands von Schutzrechten und potentieller Schutzrechtsverletzungen im Rahmen von Gutachten zur Ausübungsfreiheit in Bezug auf Schutzrechte Dritter (Freedom to Operate) und zur Sorgfaltspflicht bei Unternehmenstransaktionen (IP Due Diligence).

Durch seine Aufenthalte in den USA und Frankreich beherrscht Herr Hahner fließend die englische und französische Sprache. Ralph Hahner ist Autor mehrerer Veröffentlichungen zu Fragen des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes.

Technischer Hintergrund

Herr Hahner studierte Physik und Elektrotechnik in Deutschland und Frankreich. Er spezialisierte sich im Laufe seines Studiums auf die angewandte Physik und dort auf die Mikroelektronik und Nanoelektronik. Seine Forschungsaktivitäten lagen im Bereich Messinstrumente und Bauteile für optoelektronische Anwendungen. Herr Hahner beschäftigte sich beispielsweise mit der Entwicklung von Single-Photon-Emittern für die Quantenkryptograhie.  

Aufgrund seines Werdegangs verfügt Herr Hahner über eine breite technische Expertise: Kommunikations- und Informationstechnologie, Steuer- und Regelungstechnik, Mikro- und Optoelektronik und Nanotechnologie, Medizintechnik, Fahrzeugtechnik, Filtertechnik, Batterietechnik und Bautechnik.

Laufbahn

2015
Absolvent des CEIPI Programms zur Ausbildung als technischer Richter in Teilzeit am Einheitlichen Patentgericht (UPC)

seit 2011
Patentanwalt bei Kanzlei Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann und der Kanzlei Breuer Friedrich Hahner

2007 – 2010
Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt bei der Kanzlei Bardehle Pagenberg, dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt und dem Bundespatentgericht

2006 – 2007
MBA am Collège des Ingénieurs, Paris; Projektingenieur bei Renault SA (Technical Center Lardy, Frankreich) im Bereich Motorenprüfstände

2000 – 2006
Studium der Physik an der Universität Karlsruhe (KIT - Dipl.-Phys.) sowie der Elektrotechnik am Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (INPG - Ingénieur Diplômé) und der Mikro- und Nanotechnologie an der Université Joseph Fourier Grenoble; Werkstudent und Praktika bei der Robert Bosch GmbH (Produktionsplanung), der Andreas Stihl AG (Werkzeugmacherei), der Mahle GmbH (Produktionsverfahren), dem Institut Laue-Langevin Grenoble (Neutronenleiter) und dem CEA Grenoble (Quantenelektrodynamik von Kavitäten/Cavity Quantum Electrodynamics)