Team

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger

Dipl.-Ing.

German and European
Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

 

Languages

German, Englisch, French

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger
Phone +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
mwallingerwallinger.com

 

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger holds a doctorate in mechanical engineering and has been admitted as a German Patent Attorney since 1987 and as a European Patent Attorney since 1988. Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann emerged from the patent law firm he founded in 1989, which operated as Wallinger and Partner from 1996 to 2007.

Legal practice

Since 1983, Dr.-Ing. Wallinger has been involved in significant patent litigation involving a triple-digit number of patent infringement, invalidity, and opposition cases. A significant number of these cases have been finally decided by the German Federal Supreme Court and are often considered landmark decisions.

These decisions include: "Diving Computer" in relation to the patentability of software programs, "Radio Clock I, II" in relation to international jurisdiction, "Torque Transmission Device" and "Time Telegram", which are landmark decisions for claim amendments during the patent examination phase, and "Sprocket Arrangement" and "Multiple Gear Hub", which represent legal precedents in relation to the interpretation of patent claims.

The most recent decision, "Orange Book Standard," concerns the tension between patents and standards under antitrust law. In these cases, Dr.-Ing. Wallinger has represented large companies, such as automobile manufacturers and automotive suppliers, as well as medium-sized companies. The technology in these cases includes mechanical devices, particularly for the automotive and bicycle industries; electronic products, such as CDs, CD-Rs, DVDs, and DVD-Rs; and computer-controlled devices, such as automatic transmissions, air conditioning systems, and measuring instruments.

Technical background

Mechanical engineering: Dr.-Ing. Wallinger studied mechanical engineering at Clausthal University of Technology, majoring in transmission technology, internal combustion engines, and plain and rolling bearings; research assistant at the Institute for Friction Technology and Machine Kinetics at Clausthal University of Technology, the former Max Planck Institute for Friction Technology; dissertation on the lubrication of gears according to elastohydrodynamic theory.

Electrical Engineering/Electronics: Dr.-Ing. Wallinger majored in electrical measurement and control engineering; worked for several years as a research assistant at the Institute of Electrical Engineering at the Clausthal University of Technology; developed computer programs in various programming languages for scientific projects for NASA, among others; developed electronic measurement equipment for test benches, supervised the institute's own computer systems in the Institutes of Electrical Engineering and Friction Engineering.

Career

1989
Founding of the patent law firm Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann, which operated as Wallinger and Partner from 1996 to 2007

since 1988
Admission as European Patent Attorney

since 1987
Admission as German Patent Attorney

since 1983
Involvement in significant patent litigation with triple-digit numbers of patent infringement, patent nullity, or opposition proceedings

Studies

Studies in mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Clausthal. Research assistant at the Institute for Friction Technology and Machine Kinetics at the Technical University of Clausthal.

Electrical engineering/electronics: major in electrical measurement and control engineering, several years as research assistant at the Institute of Electrical Engineering at the Technical University of Clausthal

Memberships

  • Patent Attorneys Association (PAK)
  • Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi)
  • Association of Intellectual Property Attorneys (VPP)
  • International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)
  • American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
  • Society for the Protection of Intellectual Property and Copyright (GRUR)
  • Licensing Executives Society (LES)
  • Association of German Engineers (VDI)
  • International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI)

Team

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger

Diplom-Maschinenbauingenieur

Patentanwalt 
European Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger
Tel. +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
mwallingerwallinger.com

Dr.-Ing. Michael Wallinger ist promovierter Maschinenbauingenieur und seit 1987 als deutscher Patentanwalt und seit 1988 als European Patent Attorney zugelassen. Wallinger, Ricker, Schlotter, Tostmann ist aus der von ihm im Jahr 1989 gegründeten Patentanwaltskanzlei, die von 1996 bis 2007 als Wallinger und Partner firmierte, hervorgegangen.

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit

Seit 1983 ist Dr.-Ing. Wallinger an bedeutenden Patentstreitverfahren mit einer dreistelligen Zahl an Patentverletzungen, Patentnichtigkeits- und Einspruchsfällen beteiligt. Eine beträchtliche Zahl dieser Fälle wurde abschließend vom deutschen Bundesgerichtshof entschieden und sind oftmals als wegweisende Entscheidungen zu betrachten. 

Unter anderem „Tauchcomputer“ im Zusammenhang mit der Patentierbarkeit von Softwareprogrammen, „Funkuhr I, II“ in Bezug auf die internationale Zuständigkeit, „Drehmomentübertragungseinrichtung“ und „Zeittelegramm“, sind wegweisende Entscheidungen für Anspruchsänderungen während der Patentprüfungsphase, „Kettenradanordnung“ und „Mehrgangnabe“ stellen rechtliche Präzedenzfälle in Bezug auf die Auslegung von Patentansprüchen dar.

Die jüngste Entscheidung „Orange Book Standard“ betrifft das kartellrechtliche Spannungsverhältnis von Patenten und Normen. In diesen Fällen hat Dr.-Ing. Wallinger große Unternehmen, wie z. B. Automobilhersteller und Automobilzulieferer, sowie mittelständische Unternehmen vertreten. Die Technik in diesen Fällen umfasst mechanische Geräte, insbesondere für die Kraftfahrzeug- und Fahrradindustrie, elektronische Produkte wie CDs,
 CD-Rs, DVDs und DVD-Rs sowie computergesteuerte Geräte, wie z. B. automatische Getriebe, Klimaanlagen und Messgeräte.

Technischer Hintergrund

Maschinenbau: Studium des Maschinenbaus an der Technischen Universität Clausthal mit den Schwerpunkten Getriebetechnik, Verbrennungsmotoren sowie Gleit- und Wälzlager; wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Reibungstechnik und Maschinenkinetik an der Technischen Universität Clausthal, dem ehemaligen Max-Planck-Institut für Reibungstechnik; Dissertation zum Thema Schmierung von Zahnrädern nach der elastohydrodynamischen Theorie.

Elektrotechnik/Elektronik: Studienschwerpunkt elektrische Mess- und Regelungstechnik, mehrjährige Tätigkeit als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Institut für Elektrotechnik der Technischen Universität Clausthal; Entwicklung von Computerprogrammen in verschiedenen Programmiersprachen für wissenschaftliche Projekte, unter anderem für die NASA; Entwicklung elektronischer Messeinrichtungen für Prüfstände, Betreuung der institutseigenen Rechenanlagen in den Instituten für Elektrotechnik und Reibungstechnik.

Laufbahn

1989
Gründung der Patentanwaltskanzlei Wallinger, Ricker, Schlotter, Tostmann, die von 1996 bis 2007 als Wallinger und Partner firmierte

seit 1988
Zulassung als European Patent Attorney

seit 1987
Zulassung als deutscher Patentanwalt

seit 1983
Beteiligung an bedeutenden Patentstreitverfahren mit einer dreistelligen Zahl an Patentverletzungen, Patentnichtigkeits- und Einspruchsverfahren

Studium
Studium des Maschinenbaus an der Technischen Universität Clausthal. Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Reibungstechnik und Maschinenkinetik an der Technischen Universität Clausthal.
Elektrotechnik/Elektronik: Studienschwerpunkt elektrische Mess- und Regelungstechnik, mehrjährige Tätigkeit als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Institut für Elektrotechnik der Technischen Universität Clausthal

Mitgliedschaften

  • Patentanwaltskammer (PAK)
  • Institut der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi)
  • Vereinigung von Fachleuten des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes (VPP)
  • International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)
  • American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
  • Gesellschaft für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR)
  • Licensing Executives Society (LES)
  • Verband Deutscher Ingenieure (VDI)
  • Internationale Vereinigung für den Schutz des Geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI)