Team

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter

Dipl.-Ing.

Partner
German and European
Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

Languages

German, English

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter
Phone +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
aschlotterwallinger.com

 

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter is one of the founding partners of the firm. He holds a doctorate in engineering and has been admitted as a German Patent Attorney and as a European Patent Attorney since 2005 and 2004, respectively.

Legal Practice

Dr.-Ing. Schlotter has been active in the field of intellectual property since 2001, first in a larger Munich law firm, then as a Patent Attorney in his own firm, before joining forces with the other named partners to form the law firm Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann in 2007.

In his daily practice, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter is particularly involved in drafting, obtaining, and defending patents for his clients, as well as attacking opposing patents before the German and European Patent Offices and the German Federal Patent Court, both in first and second instance proceedings. Dr.-Ing. Schlotter regularly advises his clients on patent strategy issues and represents them in infringement proceedings before the civil courts.

He was a member of the examination board for Patent Attorneys. In 2012, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter received an appointment as professor for intellectual property law at HAW. Due to his technical and patent law expertise, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter is particularly involved with problems concerning computer-implemented inventions, as well as those with a mechanical, control, and medical technology background.

Technical Background

Dr.-Ing. Schlotter graduated with honors from the Technical University of Munich in 1997 with a degree in mechanical engineering, specializing in theory and research. During his studies, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter worked as a research assistant at the Chairs A and B of Mechanics, of Thermodynamics, of Control Engineering, and of Machine Elements, as well as with the Großhadern Hospital.

From 1997 to 2000, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter was a research assistant at Chair B for Mechanics at the Technical University of Munich, where he received his doctorate summa cum laude in 1999 with a thesis on the dynamics, control, and optimization of a novel telerobot under Prof. Pfeiffer. During this time, Dr.-Ing. Schlotter also ran his own engineering office and successfully created and supervised programs for the simulation of noise problems in automatic transmissions (in cooperation with Daimler-Chrysler), for the design of gear drives (in cooperation with Volkswagen) and for vibrations in printing machines (in cooperation with MAN Roland, MAN Plamag).

Career

2012
Dr.-Ing. Schlotter received an appointment as professor for intellectual property law at HAW

2007
Merger with the other name partners to form the law firm Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostman

since 2004-2005
Admission as a German Patent Attorney as well as a European Patent Attorney

2001-2007
Active in the field of intellectual property, first in a larger Munich law firm, then as a Patent Attorney in his own firm 
Doctorate with summa cum laude under Prof. Pfeiffer with a thesis on the dynamics, control and optimization of a novel telerobot, in parallel eLeadership of an own engineering office

1997-2000
Research assistant at the Chair B for Mechanics of the Technical University of Munich

1997
Studied mechanical engineering with specialization in theory and research at the Technical University of Munich 1997 graduated with distinction

Memberships

  • Patent Attorneys Association (PAK)
  • Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi)
  • International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)
  • International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI)
  • Association of Intellectual Property Professionals (VPP)
  • German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR)
  • Bavarian Patent Attorneys Association (BayPat)

Publications

  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Optimization of a New Tele Robot, Stochastic Optimization Techniques, in: Lecture Notes in Economics and Mathematical Systems, Vol. 513, 312, Springer-Verlag, Berlin (2002)
  • A.Schlotter, Dynamics, control and optimization of a novel robot, Fortschr.-Ber. VDI Series 8, No. 833, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (2000)
  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Modeling, Control and Optimization of a New Tele Robot, Proc. ICRA2000: IEEE Conf. On Robotics and Automation, San Francisco (2000)
  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Control of a New Tele Robot, Proc. AMC2000: 6th Int. Workshop on Advanced Motion Control, Nagoya, Japan (2000)
  • F. Pfeiffer, A. Schlotter, Noise reduction in automatic transmissions, Final report in: Zahnradgetriebe 99: Planetengetriebe; Conference Wiesloch, VDI Report 1460, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (1999).
  • Schlotter, Algorithm for the calculation of exact joint positions in 3-D motion analyses, in: Dynamics of Human Gait, Fortschr.-Ber. Biotechnology/Medical Technology, VDI Series 17, No. 218, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (2000).

Team

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter

Diplom-Maschinenbauingenieur

Partner
Patentanwalt 
European Patent Attorney
European Trademark and
Design Attorney

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter
Tel. +49 89 210232-0
Fax +49 89 210232-65
aschlotterwallinger.com

Dr.-Ing. Alexander Schlotter ist einer der Gründungspartner der Kanzlei. Er ist promovierter Ingenieur und als deutscher Patentanwalt sowie als European Patent Attorney seit 2005 bzw. 2004 zugelassen.

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit

Dr.-Ing. Schlotter ist seit 2001 auf dem Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes aktiv, zunächst in einer größeren Münchner Kanzlei, dann als Patentanwalt in eigener Kanzlei, bevor er sich im Jahr 2007 mit den anderen Namenspartnern zur Kanzlei Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann zusammenschloss.

In seiner täglichen Praxis beschäftigt sich Dr.-Ing. Schlotter insbesondere mit der Ausarbeitung, Erlangung und Verteidigung von Patenten für seine Mandanten sowie dem Angriff auf gegnerische Patente vor dem Deutschen und dem Europäischen Patentamt und dem Bundespatentgericht, sowohl in erst- als auch zweitinstanzlichen Verfahren. Dr.-Ing. Schlotter berät seine Mandanten regelmäßig zu patentstrategischen Fragestellungen und vertritt sie in Verletzungsverfahren vor den Zivilgerichten.

Dr.-Ing. Schlotter war Mitglied der Prüfungskommission für Patentanwälte. 2012 erhielt er einen Ruf als Professor für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz an die HAW Hamburg. Aufgrund seiner technischen und patentrechtlichen Expertise ist Dr.-Ing. Schlotter insbesondere mit Problemstellungen zu computerimplementierten Erfindungen sowie solchen mit mechanischem, steuerungs- und medizintechnischem Hintergrund befasst.

Technischer Hintergrund

Dr.-Ing. Schlotter hat sein Studium des Maschinenwesens mit der Fachrichtung Theorie und Forschung an der Technischen Universität München 1997 mit Auszeichnung abgeschlossen. Während seines Studiums hat er als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft an den Lehrstühlen A und B für Mechanik, für Thermodynamik, für Steuerungs- und Regelungstechnik und für Maschinenelemente gearbeitet, worunter u. a. die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Klinikum Großhadern fiel.

Von 1997 bis 2000 war Dr.-Ing. Schlotter wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl B für Mechanik der Technischen Universität München, wo er bei Prof. Pfeiffer 1999 mit einer Arbeit über die Dynamik, Regelung und Optimierung eines neuartigen Teleroboters „summa cum laude“ promovierte. In dieser Zeit hat Dr.-Ing. Schlotter parallel ein eigenes Ingenieurbüro geführt und dabei u. a. erfolgreich Programme zur Simulation von Geräuschproblemen in Automatikgetrieben (in Zusammenarbeit mit Daimler-Chrysler), zur Auslegung von Rädertrieben (in Zusammenarbeit mit Volkswagen) sowie von Schwingungen in Druckmaschinen (in Zusammenarbeit mit MAN Roland, MAN Plamag) erstellt und betreut.

Laufbahn

2012
Dr.-Ing. Schlotter erhielt einen Ruf als Professor für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz an die HAW Hamburg

2007
Zusammenschluss mit den anderen Namenspartnern zur Kanzlei Wallinger Ricker Schlotter Tostmann

seit 2004-2005
Zulassung als deutscher Patentanwalt sowie als European Patent Attorney

2001-2007
Auf dem Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes aktiv, zunächst in einer größeren Münchner Kanzlei, dann als Patentanwalt in eigener Kanzlei

1999
Promotion mit "summa cum laude" bei Prof. Pfeiffer mit einer Arbeit über die Dynamik, Regelung und  Optimierung eines neuartigen Teleroboters, parallele Leitung eines eigenen Ingenieurbüros

1997-2000
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl B für Mechanik der Technischen Universität München

1997
Studium des Maschinenwesens mit der Fachrichtung Theorie und Forschung an der Technischen Universität München 1997 mit Auszeichnung abgeschlossen

Mitgliedschaften

  • Patentanwaltskammer (PAK)
  • Institut der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi)
  • International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)
  • Internationale Vereinigung für den Schutz geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI)
  • Vereinigung von Fachleuten des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes (VPP)
  • Deutsche Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR)
  • Bayerischer Patentanwaltsverein (BayPat)

Publikationen

  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Optimization of a New Tele Robot, Stochastic Optimization Techniques, in: Lecture Notes in Economics and Mathematical Systems, Vol. 513, 312, Springer-Verlag, Berlin (2002)
  • A. Schlotter, Dynamik, Regelung und Optimierung eines neuartigen Roboters, Fortschr.-Ber. VDI Reihe 8, Nr. 833, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (2000)
  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Modeling, Control and Optimization of a New Tele Robot, Proc. ICRA2000: IEEE Conf. On Robotics and Automation, San Francisco (2000)
  • A. Schlotter, F. Pfeiffer, Control of a New Tele Robot, Proc. AMC2000: 6th Int. Workshop on Advanced Motion Control, Nagoya, Japan (2000)
  • F. Pfeiffer, A. Schlotter, Geräuschreduzierung in Automatikgetrieben, Abschlussbericht, in: Zahnradgetriebe 99: Planetengetriebe; Tagung Wiesloch, VDI Bericht 1460, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (1999)
  • A. Schlotter, Algorithmus zur Berechnung exakter Gelenkpositionen bei 3-D Bewegungsanalysen, in: Dynamik des menschlichen Ganges, Fortschr.-Ber. Biotechnik/Medizintechnik, VDI Reihe 17, Nr. 218, VDI-Verlag, Düsseldorf (2000)