Skip to content

Dr. Bernhard Virnekaes
Dr. Bernhard Virnekaes holds a PhD in chemistry and is admitted as European Patent Attorney since 1998. Dr. Virnekaes has spent a significant part of his career in leading functions in the biotech industry and joined WRST in 2008.


Technical Expertise
Master's Degree (1989) and PhD (1992) in chemistry at the Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich, specializing in organic chemistry.

1992 to 2005: MorphoSys AG (leading German biotech company; recombinant antibody libraries and screening technologies): research and management positions, ultimately in the area of Intellectual Property: implementing and heading MorphoSys IP department, including coordinating complex patent litigation in the US.

2005 to 2008: GPC Biotech AG (leading German biopharmaceutical company): responsible for the company's IP portfolio.

Intellectual Property Expertise
Based on strong industrial background: focus on counseling work for chemical, pharmaceutical and biotech companies regarding all aspects of strategic IP management, due diligence, "Freedom-to-Operate" analyses.

Languages
German, English, French

Admissions
European Patent Attorney

Memberships
Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi)
Licensing Executives Society (LES)

Contact

Dr. rer. nat. Bernhard Virnekaes

Tel. +49 (0)89-2102320
Fax +49 (0)89-21949408

virnekaes@wallinger.de

vCard Download


sfy39587p00

Skip to content

Dr. Bernhard Virnekäs
Dr. Bernhard Virnekäs ist promovierter Chemiker und seit 1998 als European Patent Attorney zugelassen. Dr. Virnekäs war lange Zeit in leitender Funktion in der Biotechnologie-Industrie tätig und hat sich 2008 der Kanzlei WRST angeschlossen.


Technischer Hintergrund
Studium der Chemie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München mit Promotion in Organischer Chemie (1992)
1992 bis 2005: forschende und leitende Tätigkeit im Biotech-startup Unternehmen MorphoSys (rekombinante Antikörperbibliotheken und Screeningtechnologie), zuletzt im Bereich Intellectual Property: Aufbau und Leitung der IP-Abteilung der Firma und Teilnahme an komplexen Patentverletzungsverfahren in den USA
2005 bis 2008: Wechsel zur GPC Biotech AG; dort: verantwortlich für das IP-Portfolio des Unternehmens

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit
Basierend auf stark ausgeprägten industriellem Hintergrund: Fokus auf die Beratung von Unternehmen der Chemie, Pharmazie und Biotechnologie in allen Fragen des strategischen IP-Managements, Due Diligence-Arbeiten, sowie Erstellen von "Freedom-to-Operate"-Analysen

Sprachen
Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Zulassungen
European Patent Attorney

Mitgliedschaften
Institut der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi)
Licensing Executives Society (LES)

Kontakt

Dr. rer. nat. Bernhard Virnekäs

Tel. +49 (0)89-2102320
Fax +49 (0)89-21949408

virnekaes@wallinger.de

vCard Download


sfy39587p00