Skip to content

Dr. Erich Fritsche
Dr. Erich Fritsche is patent attorney and partner of the firm. Due to his technical background as a PhD biochemist, he specializes in the technical fields of chemistry and life sciences. His previous experience as a management consultant at Bain & Company enables him to understand not only the technical but also the business requirements of his clients and to provide optimal advice tailored to their specific needs.


Technical Expertise
Biochemistry studies at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich (special subjects: microbiology, immunology, genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology, biophysics); Master of Science 1995 (Dipl. Natw. ETH)

PhD work at the Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried in the research group of Nobel laureate Prof. Dr. Robert Huber in the field of X-ray protein crystallography; PhD (summa cum laude) 1998 (Dr. rer. nat.)

Intellectual Property Expertise
Active in the field of Intellectual Property (IP) since 2002; admitted as German and European patent attorney since 2005 and 2006, respectively; worked as a patent attorney for several years at a Munich-based renowned IP firm, then joined WRST in 2012 and became a partner of the firm in 2017.

Key activities include drafting of patent applications, representing clients in examination procedures, managing complex patent portfolios, advising and representing clients in opposition and appeal proceedings as well as in nullity and infringement proceedings, providing IP opinions on freedom-to-operate (FTO), infringement and validity, and preparing due diligence analyses.

Special expertise in the technical fields of chemistry and life sciences, in particular
- pharmaceuticals (e.g. "small molecule" drugs, generic drugs, biologics, biosimilars and antisense molecules),
- biotechnology (e.g. prokaryotic and eukaryotic expression systems, recombinant DNA techniques and transgenic plants),
- immunology (e.g. vaccines and monoclonal antibodies),
- cell biology (e.g. stem cells and cell culture media),
- aesthetic medicine (e.g. botulinum toxin and hyaluronic acid dermal fillers),
- food industry (e.g. food additives, industrial enzymes).

Languages
German, English

Admissions
German Patent Attorney
European Patent Attorney
European Trademark and Design Attorney

Memberships
German Patent Attorneys’ Bar Association (PAK)
Institute of Professional Representatives before the European
Patent Office (epi)
International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)

Contact

Dr. Erich Fritsche

Tel. +49 (0)89-2102320
Fax +49 (0)89-21949408

fritsche@wallinger.de

vCard Download


sfy39587p00

Skip to content

Dr. Erich Fritsche
Dr. Erich Fritsche ist Patentanwalt und Partner der Kanzlei. Aufgrund seines technischen Hintergrunds als promovierter Biochemiker ist er spezialisiert auf die Bereiche Chemie und Life Sciences. Als ehemaliger Unternehmensberater bei Bain & Company versteht er auch die betriebswirtschaftlichen Hintergründe seiner Mandanten und kann so eine optimale Beratung und Betreuung sicherstellen.


Technischer Hintergrund
Biochemiestudium an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) in Zürich (Schwerpunktfächer: Mikrobiologie, Immunologie, Genetik, Biochemie, Molekularbiologie, Biophysik); Diplom 1995 (Dipl. Natw. ETH)

Doktorarbeit am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried in der Arbeitsgruppe von Nobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Robert Huber im Bereich Röntgenstrukturanalyse von Proteinen; Promotion (summa cum laude) 1998 (Dr. rer. nat.)

Anwaltliche Tätigkeit
Seit 2002 auf dem Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes tätig; Zulassung als deutscher Patentanwalt 2005 und als European Patent Attorney 2006; mehrjährige Tätigkeit als Patentanwalt für eine renommierte Münchner Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei; 2012 Wechsel zur Kanzlei WRST und dort seit 2017 Partner

Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte: Ausarbeitung von Patentanmeldungen, Vertretung in Prüfungsverfahren, Betreuung von komplexen Patentportfolios, Beratung und Vertretung in Einspruchs- und Beschwerdeverfahren sowie in Nichtigkeits- und Patentverletzungsverfahren, Erstellung von Freedom-to-Operate-, Verletzungs- und Rechtsbeständigkeitsgutachten, Durchführung von Due Diligences

Besondere Expertise auf den technischen Gebieten der Chemie und Life Sciences, insbesondere
- Pharmazie (z.B. "Small Molecule"-Wirkstoffe, Generika, Biologika, Biosimilars und Antisense-Moleküle),
- Biotechnologie (z.B. prokaryotische und eukaryotische Expressionssysteme, rekombinante DNA-Techniken und transgene Pflanzen),
- Immunologie (z.B. Vakzine und monoklonale Antikörper),
- Zellbiologie (z.B. Stammzellen und Zellkulturmedien),
- ästhetische Medizin (z.B. Botulinumtoxin und Hyaluronsäure-Dermalfiller),
- Nahrungsmittelindustrie (Lebensmittelzusatzstoffe, industrielle Enzyme)

Sprachen
Deutsch, Englisch

Zulassungen
Patentanwalt
European Patent Attorney
European Trademark and Design Attorney

Mitgliedschaften
Patentanwaltskammer (PAK)
Institut der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi)
International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI)

Kontakt

Dr. Erich Fritsche

Tel. +49 (0)89-2102320
Fax +49 (0)89-21949408

fritsche@wallinger.de

vCard Download


sfy39587p00